Ask and Ye Shall Receive

I know where the runners live.

They live just before the sun splits the trees and falls down hot and bright on the ground, just about the time the Lost Boys are crawling out of of their hammocks.

They live where you can still catch a scent of fall in the air from the dew melting off leaves. Where the earth is quiet and you can get drunk off the beauty of the morning.

I know where the runners live, because I was there this morning.

I asked for oomph yesterday, and it slipped into my bedroom this morning, blowing open the curtains and opening my eyes at 7:00am. For the record, I don’t even wake up for work at 7:00am. But this morning, there was no part of me that felt like continuing my slumber, which is odd for a girl who usually refuses to take less than 8 hours of sleep.

I took it as a sign that I was not supposed to do my planned P90X Core Synergistics this morning but rather continue my running spree. And everything fell into place.

IPod playlist? Made and synced.

  1. What’s Left of the Flag–Flogging Molly
  2. Song 2–Blur
  3. Ready to Run–Dixie Chicks
  4. Don’t Stop Believin’–Journey
  5. Bad Moon Rising–Creedence Clearwater Revival
  6. Jet Plane–Me First and the Gimmie Gimmie Gimmies
  7. Just Like Heaven–The Cure
  8. Harder to Breathe–Maroon 5
  9. Take Me Out–Franz Ferdinand
  10. Here it Goes Again–Ok Go
  11. Tainted Love–Me First and the Gimmie Gimmie Gimmies
  12. Sin Wagon–Dixie Chicks
  13. Punk Rock Jock–Operation Ivy
  14. Runnin’ Down a Dream–Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  15. Funk Soul Brother–Chemical Brothers
  16. I’ll Be That Girl–Barenaked Ladies
  17. The Distance–Cake

Burt? Applied. Water? Drunk. Running attire? Clean and cool.

Blister? Bandaged.

I did have a real band-aid on it, but I sweated it off halfway through. I was so drunk on life at that point that I didn’t care, but I was getting blood on my shoe, which I did care about. After briefly thinking “What Would Tim Do?” I snagged a few leaves and jammed them in my sock.

Mischief? Managed.

I can’t even tell you how happy I felt this morning. As someone who suffers from mild depression and seasonal affective disorder, I am here to say that all that stuff about exercise making you happier is true. I know summer has a part to play in boosting my mood, too, but I definitely think I can attribute part of my new attitude to sweating out all the bad parts of my day and reveling in what’s left over: the good stuff.

Even though my left knee was twinging a bit, I had a stupid-happy grin on my face the entire time and said “Hello!” or “Good Morning” to every runner I passed. And to make up for my lack of oomph yesterday morning, I pounded out 1.3 miles before stopping to walk.

When I got back home, I had breakfast cold and waiting in the fridge, having prepared it last night.

Black Quinoa Blueberry Pudding (serves 2)

  • 1/2 cup dry black quinoa
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 cup blueberries

Bring water to a boil in a saucepan. Add quinoa

Isn’t it gorgeous?

and reduce to a simmer. Cover and cook until all the water is absorbed (about 15 minutes).

While it cooks, prepare the base of the pudding. In a medium saucepan, heat almond milk over medium high heat. Add honey, and stir until melted.

Bring the milk mixture to a simmer, add cooked quinoa, and stir to combine. Continue to stir over medium high heat for a few minutes, until the mixture begins to thicken.

After a few minutes, mix in the blueberries, and remove from heat.

Transfer to a shallow bowl and refrigerate for several hours until thickened.

Inspired by: Black Quinoa Blueberry Pudding at dailygarnish.com.

*****

I kept mine in the refrigerator overnight and dished it up this morning.

It was…..strange. Chewy. Nutty. Coconutty. Bluberry-y.

I liked it.

3 thoughts on “Ask and Ye Shall Receive

  1. Hurray for you! This post makes me anxious to be done with school so I can go for a morning run, too! Also, We have about three cups of quinoa in the fridge waiting to be eaten. I think I know what I’ll be doing with it tomorrow morning… 🙂

    • Even though I don’t love running yet, a morning run is certainly a beautiful thing. And I definitely recommend the Blueberry Quinoa Pudding–it’s strange, but very tasty!

  2. Pingback: Snippets from Sunday | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

