Whirlwind of a Day

It was a breeze getting to the airport in Appleton. It was so small that not even a person as terrible as directions as I am could get lost. My sister Emily and Aurelia drove with me for company, and we got to the airport half an hour before Jake’s arrival time. We headed to the airport cafe and ordered the cheapest nosh available: coffee for Em, iced tea for me, and a Cranberry Orange muffin to share.

Total cost: 9 ish dollars. (The muffin was $3). It was pretty tasty for airport food.

This was the first time Jake was going to see Aurelia–the last time we saw him was at my wedding in October 2010!

Not even Jake could resist her charms.

Babies really bring people together, don’t they? The whole way back Jake kept commenting on her long lashes, pretty blue eyes, chubby cheeks, and soft hair. There’s no doubt about it–she’s a keeper!

We had fun planning out all the fun stuff we’re going to do this summer. I’m ready for a coming home party already, and I’m hoping Jake and my Aunt Colleen will make it up to the cabin with us at the end of June. I’m already counting down the days….the cabin is one of my favorite places in the world.

I brought Jake to his house to drop off his belongings, then back into town to cash a check, pick up some pizza, and finally deliver him to my Grandma’s house where his mom would pick him up later. Grandma was ecstatic to see him (especially because he’s the only one who installs her air conditioner just the way she likes it).

I had two pieces of pizza: one Mediterranean and one Spinach.

I also had a small snack plate with an orange, several grape tomatoes, a few crackers, and a string cheese that was camera shy.

Em and I went to a meeting later in the afternoon to discuss our upcoming Renaissance Faire, which we will be advertising by marching in the Memorial Day Parade next Monday. It’s supposed to be 87 degrees, so I may melt in my Renaissance garbe. Hopefully there will be a nice breeze. 🙂

When I got home, I was hungry again, so I cut up a sweet potato and some brussel sprouts to roast. While they were baking in the oven (425 for 30 minutes), I had a bowl of watermelon…out of my watermelon bowl.

I can’t believe I almost polished off the watermelon without eating it out of this bowl!

Then a bowl of roasted veggies later.

Seasoned with garlic salt and pepper and topped with a little Parmesan. I love roasted veggies.

Dave and I both have off again tomorrow, so another episode of Game of Thrones may be in our future tonight.

Warning: this show is addicting.

Leave a Comment

