Mother’s Day Merriment

We had very few original ideas today for Mother’s Day. I had wanted to do something different and have the four of us kids cook Mum a fancy dinner (I’ve been dying to try a mushroom and caramelized onion risotto), but my sister had her heart set on preparing brunch, so I stepped back.

Instead, my mom got to enjoy a small brunch with my sister Emily, my dad, my aunt Colleen, and Emily’s daughter, Aurelia. I heard Emily prepared a delicious quiche that everyone enjoyed. Afterwards, they came into town so my sister Moriah and I could join them for an afternoon at the Bay Beach Wildlife Sanctuary.

We never imagined it would be so crowded! It took us nearly half an hour to find parking spaces and meet up, but once we got out of the main park and onto the trails, we didn’t see another person. My family likes to travel off the beaten path.

It was such a gorgeous day that I couldn’t help but be cheerful. The weather has alarming control over my mood; I am probably one of the most content people you will ever meet in the summer but winter makes me crazy.

The varying hues of green, sounds of chirping birds, hopping toads, scurrying chippies, and floral aromas have cured my winter blues.

Nature is so beautiful it hurts.

Dad with his girls.

After several hours of leisurely walking, we left to find a place to set up our mini picnic.

I brought a loaf of artisan multigrain bread, strawberries, mini Babybel cheddar cheese rounds, some organic yellow carrots, celery, cucumber and veggie dip to share.

Lemon Dill Veggie Dip

  • 1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp dill weed
  • 1/2 tsp garlic granules
  • salt and pepper to taste
This was the first time I had seen organic yellow carrots at the store, and I was eager to try them. They were good, but tasted almost exactly like orange carrots, only with a slightly lighter flavor.

Perfect foods for noshing.

More noms. I had a handful of mixed nuts and some artisan chips from Mom’s stash, too.

And to wash it down:

I was insistent we go out for ice cream—everyone else had that idea, too! Most of the ice cream places we drove by were packed or about to close.

We ended up stopping at Zesty’s for frozen custard. The flavor of the day: Turtle Delite.

Better eat it fast! Custard melts quickly.

Done and done.

Happy Mother’s Day to my fabulous mother and all the other wonderful women out there who take such good care of us children!

Leave a Comment

