This One’s for You, Pops

Today my dad, Tim, turns 53. I don’t just love my dad just because he introduced me to the wonders of sardines, good beer and pickles. He is one of the strongest, smartest, most tolerant people I have ever met, and I could not be more proud to have him as a father.

He isn’t like any of the dads Hallmark writes cards for or JCPenny portrays in their catalogues…he has never golfed, doesn’t wear a Rolex, has only worn a tie once in his life (on my wedding day…on his own, he wore a bow tie), and can’t sit still long enough to recline in a La-Z-Boy with a six pack of beer and a day’s worth of ESPN. He is definitely his own person.

A preservation carpenter, he is stringy but incredibly strong and always on the go.

I worked with him a few summers ago and was amazed at how he can maintain complete balance on a tiny stick (okay, a beam) while doing something completely different with his hands. He looked like a trapeze artist dancing on the scaffolding. Wish he would pass some of that balance to me and my Bird of Paradise pose.

He is a walking guidebook for trees and flowers and can mimic bird calls that confuse even the smartest birds. He gave me a wonderful appreciation for nature as well as a desire to do my own part to keep it clean.

He taught me how to fish. We don’t catch and taxidermy in my family. We catch, fillet, cook, and eat the fish. And see that canoe he’s sitting in? He built that. When we went on backpacking trips during the summer, he would carry it over his head for miles and miles. Um, why don’t you pass me over some of that muscle, too, Dad?

Everything that is wonderful and important in a marriage, I learned from my parents. Compromise. Laughter. And dancing in the kitchen.

He taught me to use my own flesh and blood to finish a job, because the satisfaction will be that much greater. No snow blower.  No leaf blower. No sitting lawn mower. No power auger. Just straight up man power. And see that hat he’s wearing? He also taught me style.

Winter style.

He convinced me not to give up during my first year of college, talked me through all my qualms about graduating, and was one of the only reasons I walked on graduation day instead of staying home and waiting for my diploma in the mail. He was so proud of me. And it made me feel even better that I had accomplished something worth doing.

Even though he doesn’t share my family’s obsession with themed parties and dressing up, he often joins in on the nonsense. And he never said a word when we came out of the house dressed like faeries, wenches, or Tarantino characters.

Before Dad walked me down the aisle, I told him “You can’t let me trip!” My dress was a smidge too long, and I put it in my Dad’s hands to make sure I didn’t act like my clumsy self and fall over. He didn’t let me fall.

I can always count on him to keep me strong just by thinking of him as a model. For the last couple months, I have been a warrior-in-training.

My dad is the warrior I am training to be.

*****

In honor of his birthday, I decided to go back to my Ripped in 30 video this morning. It’s the one I gave up on a few months ago because it was just too hard, and I wasn’t enjoying it.

Today, I finished it and thought That wasn’t so bad. Then I did twenty crunches and sixty chest flies with 5 lb weights.

And in honor of my dad’s birthday, I had ice cream for breakfast.

Avocado Soft Serve

  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 1/3 ripe avocado
  • 1 tsp of stevia
  • toasted slivered almonds

Puree frozen banana for about 3-4 minutes in a food processor.

Add avocado and stevia.

Puree for about a minute more, until the mixture looks like soft serve ice cream.

Transfer to a serving device (I like mine in a martini glass) and top with toasted almonds.

If you like avocados and ice cream, I’m pretty sure you’ll love this. The avocado makes the mixture even creamier than normal and the stevia helps keep the sweetness on par.

Thanks for having a birthday, Dad, so I could have ice cream for breakfast!

 

3 thoughts on “This One’s for You, Pops

  1. Hello Chel, Could you share some birthday wishes with your father from Phil and I, we would certainly appreciate it… Thanks, Bill and Phil

Leave a Comment

