I Love Birthdays

Not just my own. I love celebrating all my friends and family members’ birthdays. In the daily hum drum of life, it’s easy to feel that we are insignificant amongst the vastness of the universe. But every once in awhile, it’s nice to feel special.

Even if it’s for something we had very little say in, like being born.

It was truly a glorious day for my dad’s birthday; he couldn’t have handpicked better weather. We spent most of the evening outdoors enjoying the warm, sunny, mosquito-free weather.

Hey, remember what I said about grilling and beer? You can’t have one without the other.

Although we did enjoy some of my cherry-jalapeno margaritas, too–my mom and sister Emily loved them!

My brother is a cook at a restaurant and made us a fabulous meal tonight. Burritos with slow-cooked pork (none for me…), spanish rice, refried beans, cojita and queso cheese, topped with pico de gallo, sour cream, and olives. Delish. My dad wasn’t allowed to cook since it was his birthday, and it was making him really antsy. 🙂

Sweet potatoes on the side. We have been all about the sweet potatoes in the last few years.

Mom was enjoying the weather; Aurelia wasn’t sure if she liked it.

We went inside to eat since it was easier. My plate was a veggie burrito (spanish rice, refried beans, cojita, and queso cheese in a chipotle burrito) with pico de gallo, sour cream, and olives. Raddichio with hummus and sweet potatoes on the side. It all hit the spot perfectly.

During dinner, we listened to Dad’s request: Samuel Barber’s ‘Adagio for Strings.’ It was beautiful, but heartbreaking. Then my brother strummed a little Johnny Cash and Marcy Playground while I had my second plate.

(My brother has very little light in his apartment). This was a raddichio salad with some spanish rice, refried beans, pico de gallo, olives, and sour cream.

Afterwards, we went outside for a nightcap (whiskey), and listened to the tree frogs while sitting on the grass. We chatted, laughed, and sang while the moon and stars floated above us. I love summer.

Back inside for some of my sister’s snickers cake.

Bad pictures, but it was really good. Pound cake, chocolate, caramel, and peanuts. You really can’t go wrong.

Did I mention I love birthdays?

Leave a Comment

