Runnin’ Down a Dream

Today was my second day attempting to turn myself into a runner.

I started out with a perfect day weather-wise but was feeling less than stellar physically with a bloated stomach and cramping galore. You’re right, Tammy, sometimes it is hard to be a woman. I had taken yesterday off as a rest day for my legs, though, so I would be damned if I was going to skip out today.

Out I went, with a 4.6 mile course laid out for today. I’m lucky that the trail by my apartment has mile markers, and I was determined to set a pace for myself to run 2.3 miles and walk 2.3 miles.

It was so much harder than last time.

My stomach was cramping, I was getting shooting side pains, and I had to stop once in the woods because I thought I was going to vomit. However, every time I contemplated why I wanted to run, a song would come on to cheer me up.

First it was Blitzkrieg Bop. Then Bust a Move (Glee version). And just when I was starting to peter out, Tom Petty came on and convinced me to run down my dream.

It will hopefully go down in history as one of my worst runs, but when all was said and done, I ran 2.4 miles and walked 2.2. I may not be a warrior yet, but I’ll crawl there if I have to.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Runnin’ Down a Dream

Leave a Comment

