Chocolate Banana Bread

It turned out to be quite a lovely day. Dave and I spent a bit of the early evening together with the warm sun, a cold beer, and a hot grill. I was lucky enough that Dave took the reins for dinner tonight–and it was delicious!

Ohhhh…salmon.

I love how it looks like it has melted mozzarella on top when it’s done cooking.

I think if I had to choose my last meal in prison, salmon would be my protein of choice. But don’t hold me accountable just yet. These fillets were seasoned with a bit of cumin.

It’s been awhile since we’ve had not-sweet potatoes. These were red potatoes seasoned with olive oil, garlic granules, garlic salt, and pepper.

Dave played photographer and put me to work sauteing the green beans. A bit of canola oil, kosher salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar. Very simple seasoning and cooked until just a bit tender—the Leahy-Dowes like crunchy beans!

Grilling and beer go together like…well, grilling and beer. I picked up this Thunder River Honey Wheat partly because it used locally grown barley and wheat and partly because it was on sale. It was a lovely accompaniment to the day.

Perfect start-to-summer supper? I think yes. Everything was really tasty–even more so because all I had to do was stir the beans (and clean the dishes). 🙂

Dave and I watched another episode of Game of Thrones after dinner. I’m still trying to keep all the characters straight, but I’m very intrigued by it. The show is very well written with lots of juicy subplots, and of course Sean Bean is amazing as ‘The King’s Hand.’

After putting Dave to bread, it was time to make the last food gift for my dad—Vegan Chocolate Banana Bread. I am not a vegan; I just happen to have soft tofu in my cupboard, and I like this recipe. So why not?

In a large bowl, mix:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp milled flax seed

In a KitchenAid, stir 3/4 cup soft tofu until well blended. Add:

  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup bananas, mashed

Blend wet mixture with dry mixture. Stir in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. If you’re using a large loaf pan, grease and flour and bake at 350 degrees for one hour. I used three mini loaf pans and sprinkled the tops with some dark chocolate shavings.

Baked at 350 for 40 minutes.

I can not yet account for the taste, but they smell like everything awesome in the world plus chocolate.

If I wasn’t still full, you can bet your bottom dollar I would be forking into that right now (wow, that sounded dirty). Damn that rice krispie and handful of m&ms I ate after dinner. You have cursed me.

Edited to add: After about an hour, I just couldn’t resist any longer. If you have doubts about vegan recipes, make these now. I seriously wanted to eat the entire loaf pan, but managed to only eat 1/4. So. Good.

Leave a Comment

