Souper Sunday

Some rainy days are dreary, sad, and long. But rainy Sundays, particularly when thunder is included, always seem to have a wonderful effect on me. They are a perfect time to relax with yoga, tea, and a book. Or go thrifting. Or hang out in a coffee shop. Or watch movies all day.

First I chose yoga. Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior followed by the 15 minute yoga ab workout on the same video. The ab workout, though short, is almost more intense than the entire first yoga program itself.

After I finished, Dave and I were both feeling a bit peckish, and he agreed to try some of this morning’s smoothie variation.

Berry Avocado Smoothie

  • 1 cup mixed berries (cherries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries)
  • 1 banana
  • 1/3 avocado
  • 1 handful of frozen spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups green tea
  • splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp stevia

Puree all ingredients in blender until desired consistency.

I loved this smoothie! The addition of the avocado made for a wonderfully creamy texture. It was nice having the addition of stevia, too; I added it in for Dave’s benefit but ended up enjoying the extra sweetness myself. Also, it was super fun to drink out of my new insulated and monogrammed cup. 🙂

C for crazy. C for classy. C for “Cucucachoo Mrs. Robinson.” Or C for Chelsea.

Rainy Sundays are also perfect for putting a pot of soup on. I finally broke out the soup mix the Easter Bunny left me this year.

A slightly blurry (still playing with my old camera) Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grains and Beans Soup Mix. Robust and Satisfying? Sounds like my kind of Sunday.

After rinsing the bean mix, I started throwing stuff in the slow cooker:

  • 1 cup bean mix
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 diced onion
  • 1/2 diced zucchini
  • 6 cloves minced roasted garlic
  • oregano, thyme, dry mustard, salt, and pepper

I set the slow cooker to high and let it cook for about an hour before turning it to low.

While it simmered away, Dave and I headed to the grocery store to pick up a few things for lunches this week, then to Target for two freezer pizzas (the Archer Farms brand Margherita and Baby Bella and Carmelized Onion) and the only gelato flavor we haven’t tried yet…Triple Chocolate.

First a bubble bath with my book, then ‘Soup’s on!’

Topped with diced avocado and served with a side of Dave’s homemade portabella cheese and red pepper stuffed bread.

Now to finally start watching the much-talked-about Game of Thrones. Aaaaand, I’m pretty sure the Triple Chocolate gelato will call my name for dessert.

 

Leave a Comment

