Hangin’ with Baby A

My sister Emily went to work today because her boss unfortunately broke her ankle and needed some extra help. Since I have off, my sister coerced I eagerly offered to watch Aurelia for the day.

I was a bit apprehensive, since I know very little about babies and the last time was anything but stellar. But today turned out to be a splendid day all about give and take.

I let Aurelia sleep.

While she let me do about 35 minutes of yoga.

She went to town on a bottle of milk.

Then I went to town on a mug of Brie Custard Oats.

Brie Custard Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 egg (I used the rest of my Egg Beaters)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 4 chopped figs (plus 1 extra for topping)
  • 1/2 tbsp apricot jam
  • 1/2 oz brie
  • chopped almonds

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, add the oats, milk, water, egg, and salt, and mix well.

Continue stirring occasionally for about 6 minutes. Stir in brie, figs, and cinnamon and cook a few minutes more. Remove from heat, top with remaining chopped fig and a few chopped almonds.

This wasn’t quite as awesome as I expected it to be, but I know it has potential to be something amazing. We’ll get there, brie oats.

Meanwhile, I let Aurelia poop through her ‘I Love Grandma’ dress (I think she wanted to be wearing an ‘I Love Auntie Chel’ dress).

And she let me change her with no muss or fuss.

I let her watch Beauty and the Beast. (Who cares if she’s only 2 1/2 months? You have to get them started early! No niece of mine will be watching Bratz instead of classic Disney on my watch). 🙂

She let me do laundry, update my Itunes music, make Roasted Garlic and Green Pea Hummus, my very first loaf of yeast-leavened whole wheat bread (!!!), and Quinoa Applesauce Granola.

Roasted Garlic and Green Pea Hummus

  • 12 oz chickpeas (1 1/2 cups)
  • 15.5 oz canned peas
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp Tahini
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 head roasted garlic (yes, you read that right–I don’t mess around with roasted garlic)
  • salt, pepper, and onion powder to taste
Puree all ingredients in a food processor and store in fridge.
I fed Aurelia lunch.
Then she let me eat lunch. A Mandarin Shrimp Salad.
  • spring mix
  • spinach
  • broccoli slaw
  • mandarin oranges
  • shrimp
  • dressing made of 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar and 1 tsp sesame oil
  • topped with toasted sesame seeds and almonds
The sesame oil really makes this salad–it was an excellent combination of flavors.
Now we’re going to enjoy each other’s company and the beautiful day on a walk.
I think we’ve got a good thing going here, Baby A.
2 thoughts on “Hangin’ with Baby A

  1. My niece is also Baby A (except her name is Ava) and I’m also mandating that she watch Disney movies and not Bratz 😉 Plus I know the whole “oh can you watch her??” line…

Leave a Comment

