Bye Bye Baby

No sooner had I locked up the apartment to take Aurelia for a walk than my sister returned to pick her up! No worries. My sister is all about a nice walk on a lovely day, so after reuniting with her little sugar snap pea,

we all set out together, jogging stroller and all. The temperature had bumped up to 80 degrees, and I had to stop to roll up my sleeves. Fantastic! The sights along the way included:

and

I love lilacs; they are a close second to my favorite flower, columbine, because their aroma is so delightfully intoxicating. When we returned from our 35 minute journey, I said goodbye to Aurelia. A very successful babysitting experience! Ten points to me.

The beginning of a beautiful friendship.

I was feeling a bit peckish but knew I wanted to wait for freshly baked bread for dinner, so I made myself a snack of fruit cereal.

  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1 tsp milled flax seed
  • handful of homemade granola
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
Then I set out to bake this bad boy.

Holy humongous loaf, batman! (You can blame my art professor in college for all my ‘holy batmans’–he engrained this phrase in my vocabulary as much as he engrained Botticelli in my mind). We don’t have a regular loaf pan, just a silicone one, and it definitely doesn’t lend itself to keeping a rectangular shape.

I followed this Whole Wheat Oatmeal Bread recipe from White on Rice, and while I fear I may have overbaked it a smidge, I am very proud of the bun that came out of my oven. I don’t think I have ever made a yeast-leavened loaf of bread! I have plans for you, young Padawan….dinner plans.

But first…a call from my newly-engaged friend Emily!

Me and Em at the Bristol Renaissance Faire last summer

Amongst other wedding-related talk, Em asked me to be one of her two bridesmaids! I am really excited, because I’ve never been a bridesmaid before. She was a fantastic one for me, so I hope I can return the favor.

What? This is turning into a ‘Dear Diary’ day? Sorry, guys. Back to the eats….

Roasted Veggie and Hummus Sandwich

  • 2 slices whole wheat oatmeal bread, toasted
  • 1/3 sliced zucchini
  • 1/4 cup pepper and onion mix
  • 3 sliced mushrooms
  • cheese
  • roasted garlic and green pea hummus

I roasted the zucchini, peppers, and mushrooms at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

Look how tiny my baby bellas got!

I piled the veggies on a a slice of toast and topped it with some shredded cheddar.

Then, under the broiler until the cheese melted. The remaining slice of toasted bread didn’t stay lonely for long…I slathered it with some roasted garlic and green pea hummus and sandwiched it together for an epic Roasted Veggie Sandwich.

Served with a side of grapes.

Grapes? Good. Johnny Cash serenading me through dinner? Good. Roasted veggies on homemade whole wheat bread with homemade roasted garlic and green pea hummus? Gooooood.

Leave a Comment

