With a Little Help From My Friends

While it usually pains me to work weekends, the lesser six hour shift I worked last night wasn’t so bad. I can attribute part of this to two phone calls Dave and I received simultaneously yesterday afternoon from two of our very best friends. After seven years of dating, my friends Dan and Emily are finally engaged!

 

I have only known them as a couple, and I can’t imagine either of them being with anyone else. Seriously. I try to think of it, and my mind implodes a little. They are truly the yin to the other’s yang. I am also beyond excited to attend a wedding joining two people I love most in the world and am looking forward to no longer being the only married couple in the gang. 🙂

That news certainly set my spirits higher before going into work and while there, I had a night of revelry to look forward to. My friends are seriously some of the most interesting, intelligent, and fun people on earth. However, when we’re watching ‘Epic Rap Battles’ for the fourth time in a row, don’t quote me on that.

My newly-engaged friends don’t live in the area anymore, so we planned to have them call during our gathering tonight and proclaim the great news to the rest of the gang.

The six hours at work seemed to fly by and in no time, I was back at my apartment with good company, good drinks, and good food. Did I mention Dave is a fabulous cook?

He won’t turn the oven on for himself, but when a few people come over, he could rival an Iron Chef. The menu tonight, all off the grill: homemade Naan, two types of marinated chicken, portabella caps with cheese, and brussel sprouts.

Holy yum, batman. Brussel sprouts are my favorite vegetable right now, and homemade bread will always hold a place in my heart. I swear, when Dave worked at Breadsmith, I carried a bread baby in my stomach a few times a month.

It was a very late evening, filled with plenty of laughter, discussion, and a bit of consumption.

We passed around this beer, which I really enjoyed. I like beer with a nice bite; Miller and Bud do absolutely nothing for me. This stuff was great.

I saw Dave.

I compared jeans with Tyler and John.

I had another plate of food.

My sister Moriah graced us with her presence.

My lovely friends Nicole and Lindsay attended as well (fellow Warriors-in-Training!)

So did John and Michelle (up from Elkhorn!)

And Tyler came as well!

Dave and I posed for a more natural picture.

Then at 4:30am, I called it a night. Way past my bedtime, but I still managed to get up at 10:00am this morning. After pondering over which exercise to do, I realized I didn’t feel like doing anything. Rest day, it is! 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Oats and a nice book will round the morning off nicely before I have to go to work.

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch of stevia
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (I mixed mine from powdered pb)
  • 1/2 tbsp walnuts

And a few cups of delicious coffee from our new stash.

Lazy Sunday morning. If only it could last all day, but I guess I have to earn my oats.

Congratulations if you made it through this mother of a post!

4 thoughts on “With a Little Help From My Friends

Leave a Comment

