Fruit Cereal

Since I woke up with Jillian yesterday, it was only fair that I shared this morning with Bob.

I will trust any man that can look sexy while doing a pose like that (okay, he looks a little creepy, too, but in a good way…right?).

This was my second time doing Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior, and I loved it just as much. I had a much easier time, and my mangled Bird of Paradise was slightly less mangled this time. I shouted to Dave “Quick, look at what I’m doing before I fall!” so I have some proof.

He also saw me do scads of push-ups and shoulder stands, too, so if you’re looking for proof of that, he’ll sign a statement.

The practice itself wasn’t quite as relaxing, because Dave is working in the kitchen, and the fluorescent light and sound of Dave cursing while he cuts up two (organic) chickens interrupted my Yogi state of mind.

Oh, well.

After a shower, I decided to make a new breakfast based on something I saw on Mama’s Weeds awhile ago: Fruit Cereal. A lot of nutritionists are now proclaiming that certain foods should never be eaten together or should only be mixed with x, y, or z. I don’t know if I have the patience to follow anything that strictly, but one rule is eating fruit alone, at least half an hour before consuming anything else.

That I can do.

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 handful blueberries
  • 4 prunes, cut into chunks
  • 1 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp milled flax seed
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 tbsp walnuts
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Basically, I added all the fruit to the bowl, topped it with the pb, flax, and coconut and stirred it around until they coated the outside of the fruit. Poured in my milk and topped it with walnuts.

Delicious! I was a bit dubious at first, but it tasted quite good…a great combination of flavors. And, dare I say, it filled me up even more than a serving of cereal—does that really fill anyone up?

Also for those of you going “Ewwww….prunes!” I’m not sure why prunes get such a bad rap. They’re dried plums. I like plums. Prune juice doesn’t appeal to me (I don’t drink a lot of juice, preferring instead to consume the fruit itself), but I like adding diced prunes to cereal and oatmeal. It worked really well for this fruit cereal because the texture is a bit gummy and held on to the flax and peanut butter nicely.

Now, time for a bit of cleaning to await the arrival of company tonight. I have to work at 3:00pm, but the woman who comes in on third shift graciously offered to come in to work two hours early, at 9:00pm, so I can hang out with my gang tonight. Score! Dave plans to grill up a storm, and I’m looking to a night of his delicious food.

Have a great Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Fruit Cereal

Leave a Comment

