Martinis and Ice Cream

Two of my very favorite things. Whenever I just can’t decide what to order on a night out, I fall back on a Dirty Tanqueray Martini. When I need a chocolate fix but can’t decide on the form, ice cream always wins out.

So it was only natural to serve my breakfast in style this morning.

That would be Chunky Monkey Soft Serve in a martini glass.

How can one validate having ice cream for breakfast, you may wonder? No, it’s not my birthday. And no, I’m not cheating on my code to limit sugar this week.

See, it’s not really ice cream. It’s the creamy, frozen treat that has swept the food-lover nation. It’s Gena’s banana soft serve.

Fruit for breakfast? Totally healthy.

Nuts? Those are good too.

Peanut butter? Yup.

Chocolate? Full of antioxidants and endorphins. I’m happier just looking at it, I swear.

Recipe? I’d love to share

  • 2 bananas, sliced and frozen
  • 1 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped walnuts

Place frozen bananas in a food processor.

Process for about five minutes, stopping occasionally to scrape down the sides with a spatula. First your food processor will shake like an extra in Twister. Then the bananas will look like Dippin’ Dots. But after about five minutes, the magic happens.

Gena or genius? (Note: I made this once last summer, but my bananas were not frozen overnight, just a few hours, and I did not process them for five straight minutes. Those seem to be key steps in the process).

Mix in peanut butter and cocoa powder. Put in a martini glass. Top with chopped walnuts.

If you are feeling just about as curious as George as to how much banana you can fit into your morning, have a slice of toasted vegan banana bread on the side.

This breakfast completely made up for last night’s subpar dinner.

Leave a Comment

