Parfait Re-creation….Fail

Last week, I had the best parfait ever at a small coffee shop in De Pere.

Instead of granola, the parfait was layered with chewy oats mixed with dried cranberries, yogurt, and grapes. Later that evening, I asked Google’s advice for making chewy oats, but could only find recipe after recipe for chewy oatmeal cookies.

I took matters into my own hands and emailed the cafe directly, asking them if they could share the secret to how they prepare the oats for their parfait.

A day later I received an email: “Oil and honey.”

Should’ve guessed. Reminds me of the time I ate three helpings of cabbage for dinner before asking Dave what he put in them to make them so delicious. “Lots of butter.”

Before jumping right to the deadly and delicious combo, I tried to healthify it by mixing 1/3 cup of oats with 2 tbsp of unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 tbsp of honey. I put it in the fridge overnight to see what would greet me in the morning. Answer: not Luna’s oats.

The oats were more soggy than chewy. I either used too much applesauce, or the oats just require a coat of olive oil so they don’t get too soft. Next time, I think I’ll spray them with olive oil spray first and see if that works.

Regardless, the oats were still sweet and flavorful, so I went ahead with my parfait.

  • 3.5 oz container Honey Nana greek yogurt mixed with 2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
  • 10 grapes
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/3 cup oats

Was it as good as Luna’s? Not quite.

But it was still pretty awesome. And I gave myself extra points for presentation. Breakfast always seems to be better served in an adult beverage glass.

A parfait in a martini glass can certainly hold its own to a smoothie in a Guinness glass.

Leave a Comment

