Warrior’s Breakfast

I tried a new yoga program today and it rocked my socks off.

Literally.

During one point, I had to pause the program, reach down, and pull my socks back on my toes.

The video was called Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior.

Bob Harper, I’m so glad you came into my life.

This program skyrocketed up to my two favorite yoga videos: Rodney Yee’s Power Yoga and Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown. The video was a fantastic combination of basic power yoga poses: tree, triangle, half moon, wheel, etc., plenty of vinyasa flows, and shoulder stand push-ups that I actually did.

I love yoga programs that combine stretching with power poses to give me a fantastic workout. Plus, the video was pretty artsy with slow motion screen shots in black and white, and the demonstrators were fabulous. I have a new pose to aspire to: Bird of Paradise.

I successfully managed my own version, ‘Mangled Bird of Paradise,’ but somehow I don’t think Bob would approve.

The video ended with a fabulous cool-down so I actually wanted a bowl of hot oats today.

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk beverage
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 tbsp milled flax seed
  • 1 tbsp powdered peanut butter
  • handful of dried fruit
  • handful of chocolate covered sunflower seeds

Sadly, the chocolate covered sunflower seeds are now gone. They were a fantastic addition to my oatmeal but they only made it through two bowls–the rest were devoured by the handful straight out of the container (Dave helped!).

This is what 330 calories of delicious looks like.

I believe if I introduced Worf to this bowl of oatmeal, he too, would consider it a warrior’s breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Warrior’s Breakfast

    • It must have been so fun doing yoga at a studio! I would love to try it out with a friend sometime…I’m especially curious about Hot Yoga (bikram, I think it’s called). Have you ever tried that? Until then, I’ll have to be content with my at-home yoga. This was a great video!

Leave a Comment

