Clean & Green Veggie Lasagna

There’s a secret to losing weight. It’s not a liquid diet, fat burning pills or starvation.

It’s eating less and exercising more. It’s having your cake and eating it too; just not every day. It’s sweating out your disappointment over gaining a few pounds instead of letting it get you down. In short, it’s all about balance.

So instead of throwing in the towel and plopping on the couch with a bowl of Pistachio Gelato after work, I turned on the TV and worked some more. Level 3 of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred. Walking push-ups, plank rows, rock star kicks and all.

Then it was time to get down to business. Mad Men business.

I’m two episodes behind, so I wanted dinner and a show. I decided on a Sink Salad and a Veggie Lasagna made with sliced zucchini ‘noodles.’ Can you tell I’m all about the zucchini noodles now?

I like lasagna but I don’t make it very often, because I don’t like a whole lot of leftovers. One 9×13 pan tends to make a week’s worth. Tonight I decided to try my hand at a one-person lasagna using a pot pie pan.

Veggie Lasagna (for one)

  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • 2 portabella mushroom caps, diced
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup pasta sauce (I used homemade)
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 oz mozzarella, shredded
  • 1 oz parmesan, shredded
  • 1/2 tsp butter
Note: my homemade pasta sauce was heavily spiced with quite a few Italians, so I didn’t add any additional seasonings.

To prepare zucchini: slice with mandolin, set on a greased cookie sheet with a little salt and broil for 3-4 minutes to get the excess liquid out.

The mandolin and I were not friends tonight and I mangled quite a few pieces, breaking some in half. This turned out to be fortuitous, because my pot pie pan required different sizes of zucchini for layering. Perfect-o!

Saute mushrooms in a bit of olive oil spray and butter. Add garlic and stir until liquid cooks off.

Time to start layering!

I sprayed this mini pot pie pan with nonstick cooking spray, poured a little sauce in the bottom, and laid down some zucchini.

Layered with some mushrooms.

Then parmesan and mozzarella mixture.

Then spinach, followed by more pasta sauce.

Repeat until complete!

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Since it was overflowing a bit, I put it inside a cake pan to bake. This was a great idea, because some liquid seeped out.

While this was baking, I made myself a Sink Salad.

Spring mix, kalamata olives, banana peppers, black beans, leftover chopped zucchini, grapes, and a dollop of guacamummus. Oh sink salads, how I love thee.

And 30 minutes later…

A forkful confirmed that while a bit waterlogged from the veggies, it was super tasty.

I am noting it as another veggie success! Eating clean and green is pretty delicious.

And my dessert tonight shall be Mad Men.

4 thoughts on “Clean & Green Veggie Lasagna

Leave a Comment

