Earth Day Affair

Since most of my earth day was spent enjoying the beautiful outdoors, I will let my pictures do most of the talking.

As with most Sundays, we headed to my parents in the country for one of my favorite weekend activities–grilling out. My family are all huge fans of the slow food movement. Give us a sunny day, good beer, fine foods, and we can stretch out the cooking process for hours and hours.

I have absolutely no problem with this arrangement.

With different people watching the grill, I had ample time for a flower and tree walk with my Dad.

I have yet to meet anyone with his passion and vast knowledge for the flora and fauna that populate our earth.

And I have yet to meet anyone with such a creative knack for gardening as my mother.

After we moved the grill to the other side of the building, out of the wind, it felt like the temperature rose ten degrees. A perfect day to eat outdoors.

Spring mix, shredded Cheddar, tofu aioli, and grilled brussel sprouts. A perfect salad.

We convinced my mom to try brussel sprouts, one of the foods on her ‘hate’ list. She loved them. I consider this an epic win.

Homemade veggie burger with tofu aioli on Dave’s naan bread. Chicken marinated in boysenberry jam, zatar, rosemary, marjoram, and red pepper flakes. More salad with brussel sprouts.

Damn, it feels good to be a foodie.

 

Leave a Comment

