Banana Split Breakfast

When I was in college, I minored in Fine Arts, which forced me to take scads of classes that tore me as far away from my comfort zone as possible. As an English major, I could rip apart symbolism with the best of them, but creating anything besides poetry or a short story was a hobby and not my lifeblood.

Of all my art classes, sculpture terrified me the most. Imagine my fear the first day when the instructor gave us a ball of twine and told us to create something with it by the next class. Chicka what?

From day one, I had the feeling that I was the most asinine, uninspired, and talentless person in the class. However, it was exactly what I needed to prove to myself that I wasn’t. After wracking my brain for hours and contemplating curling up to sleep through all my future sculpture classes, I finally made this:

Like the writing mantra “Write what you know,” I stuck with something I knew how to do, loom knitting, and improved upon it. My professor loved it.

Class after class, I created things I never thought my imagined pea-brain could muster.

Recycled wood project.

A decoupage tea box.

Personification of Johnny Cash’s song ‘Ring of Fire.’

And my favorite….

Food art.

This was my favorite because, naturally, I needed to study the art of the banana split before I could recreate it. I took my sister Moriah with me and visited the restaurant where the boy I was dating worked. He created an epic banana split for me to investigate, photograph, and devour.

Oh sweet mother of pearl.

The boy who made this epic banana split naturally became my husband years later.

I got an A in this class.

As one of my professors was keen enough to point out, I am always my own worst critic. I underrate my abilities and talents as a way to protect myself from failure. Which is why I need to constantly remind myself of a Christopher Robin quote. “You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

It is completely unnerving to push yourself out of you comfort zone. But the feeling of accomplishment you get after you’ve done so is well worth it. So instead of pouring yourself a bowl of cereal for breakfast this morning, why not make a banana split?

  • 1 banana, sliced in half
  • 1 3.5 oz container coconut greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup chunk pineapple
  • 1 tbsp Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter
  • 1 tsp chocolate covered sesame seeds
  • 1 dark pitted cherry

Baby steps, folks. First a banana split for breakfast, then you can take on the world.

2 thoughts on “Banana Split Breakfast

    • Thank you! It’s definitely something that most people need to work on. I just have a tendency to prefer humility to egoism, so it’s trying to find a balance that’s the hardest part.

Leave a Comment

