Green Lover

I don’t remember when I started loving broccoli.

I don’t even care.

Make this recipe, and maybe you’ll love broccoli, too.

*****

Lemon Couscous with Broccoli

  • 2 cups broccoli, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup uncooked Israeli whole wheat couscous
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds

Adapted from a Taste of Home recipe

Heat olive oil in a large skillet. Saute broccoli 4-5 minutes or until crisp-tender.

Add couscous, garlic, and sesame seeds. Saute 1-2 minutes longer.

Stir in the broth, lemon juice, salt, basil, and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for 8-10 minutes, or until all water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork.

*****

Some people claim using bouillon or store-bought broth is a heinous crime. I make no such statements. I would love to be able to keep oodles of stock in our freezer, but it’s just not feasible. When we make homemade chicken stock, I try to use some right away and freeze some. But we always keep something like this on hand:

My advice: look for a bouillon whose first ingredient is the actual base. The first ingredient should not be salt. Who wants to pay $4 for that? I like Better Than Bouillon because the first ingredient listed in their chicken base is chicken, and the first ingredient in the vegetable base is vegetables.

Other fine food consumed tonight included:

Halved brussel sprouts tossed in olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper with two minced garlic cloves. Baked at 425 for 25 minutes.

And salmon drizzled with olive oil and lemon juice, then sprinkled with basil and parsley. Baked at 425 for 13 minutes.

Holy green, batman!

I’m not feeling very wordy tonight. But that’s okay. I’m reading, writing, watching Glee, and being my green-loving self.

And I don’t just mean vegetables.

Leave a Comment

