Sunny Side Up

Seventy five degrees and sunny? I’ll take it.

As if I had any control over the weather.

If I did, the world would be a better place for creatures of the heat like myself. Summer would be six months long with two months allotted for spring, three months of fall, and one month of winter. (If you do have control over the weather, please contact me and we’ll strike a deal. I have many talents including my ability to predict plot endings, type over 100 words a minute, and sing every word to ‘Fly Like It’s Quidditch.’)

So mostly the beautiful day went like this: cleaned the apartment, ate cold leftover Chinese, went to the Dollar Tree, went thrifting with Dave, and went grocery shopping. I was thirsty, so Dave bought me a tea. Arizona Diet Green Tea with Ginseng to be exact.

I don’t usually liked things labeled ‘diet,’ but tea and honey came before Splenda. Once won’t kill me. And it was pretty good.

Saw this awesome sign at East Town Mall, on which Dave wanted to superimpose Gob’s face and write “Come on!”

Unfortunately, I had no permanent marker. But I would ride a segway next to Gob anyday.

Decided to grill out. Wanted some company, so Dave went to pick up Moriah.

Mussels for an appetizer? Deal.

  • 1 lb cooked mussels
  • 1/2 cup dry vermouth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 lb Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp Thyme

Empty frozen mussels into a hot saucepan and cover. Heat for two minutes. Combine all other ingredients and add to mussels. Replace cover and steam for 5-7 minutes.

Set pan on a large rock on your patio. Proceed to eat numerous mussels, while licking your fingers.

Chicka what?

Yup, I’m married to that guy. And look how normal I am!

Well, not that normal. I do do crazy things like make grilled mango avocado and mango fire cheese sandwiches for dinner.

Mango Fire cheese? Yes, please.

The Mango-Cado sandwiches are pretty straight forward.

  • Mango
  • Avocado
  • Sharp Cheddar or other delicious cheese (like Mango Fire)
  • Good bread (we used Pumpernickel)
I also made a sauce of two thirds greek yogurt, one third mayonnaise, a dash of lime juice and red pepper flake.

Sweet potato fries with ketchup on the side. As well as brussel sprouts tossed in a bit of rice wine vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Ah, I love life. Going to enjoy it some more with Arrested Development and good company.

A lovely Saturday.

P.S. You have til tomorrow night to enter the One Month Blogiversary Givewaway. Powdered peanut butter could be your gateway to Mango-Cado sandwiches. Good food is an addiction.

 

Leave a Comment

