Broiled Maple Salmon and Ghetto Roasted Broccoli

Highlight of my day: Hearing Sweet’s ‘Ballroom Blitz’ on the drive home from work.

If you haven’t watched this video, you must, for the sake of all humanity (or at least your sense of humor). Lucky for me, three of my very best friends: John, JD, and my brother Tyler just happen to be in a band and played at our wedding. Guess which song they willingly covered?

Me and my sister Moriah dancing the night away

Oh, how I wish I could rewind time. Ballroom Blitz live by Solace was one of the highlights of 2010.

Other highlights from today included my delicious wrap and this awesome Oatmeal bar from the Easter Bunny.

This was like an oatmeal raisin cookie without the lingering disappointment that there were no chocolate chips. Seriously delicious. I’ll have to ask EB (aka Mum) where she found this wonderful treat.

After hearing Ballroom Blitz on the radio, I was in a good mood upon arriving home. Especially because since I was home so early (3:30…nearly unheard of for me), I actually got to see Dave! His presence was distracting, but I stuck to my original exercise plan and did my hour long No More Trouble Zones video.

My abs feel like they’re stretching off my body. Is that possible? Stupid scissor kicks. I think I need to do some lower body exercises to take the heat off my abs for a day or so. I also pushed myself to do five regular push-ups, just to see if I could, and my left elbow wants to kill me now. Just get better already! I suppose I should cut it a little slack. It was broken not three months ago.

After tucking Dave in at 5:30pm (he has to be up at 1am), I set out to make dinner for myself. I decided on some easy broiled maple salmon and roasted broccoli.

Broiled Maple Salmon

  • 3 oz salmon fillet
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tbsp soy sauce

Combine maple syrup and soy sauce. Broil salmon for 5-7 minutes until crispy, flip, brush sauce over the top, and broil for 5-7 more minutes until the other side is crispy.

****

Time out for a short story.

I have fallen in love three times. Once with my first real boyfriend, second with Dave, and third with the Best Ever Roasted Broccoli on Thanksgiving 2011.

I had been looking for a tasty and healthy side dish to bring to Thanksgiving (alongside my three decadent pies…), and because broccoli is my favorite vegetable, I looked for recipes incorporating it. I googled ‘best roasted broccoli’ and stumbled upon an adaptation of Ina Garten’s (the Barefoot Contessa’s) broccoli recipe on the food blog, Iowa Girl Eats.

I made it that fateful day, had three helpings, and proceeded to make it for dinner three times the following week. It’s that good.

It looks so innocent in the round white Corningware…soon to be my new contribution to the deliciousness that is Thanksgiving dinner.

I don’t always have fresh basil and lemons on hand; if I did, I would probably make this every other day, and it’s only fair to give other vegetables a chance. But when I’m feeling broccoli for a side dish, I use dried basil, bottled lemon juice, frozen broccoli and Parmesan (ingredients that we usually always have on hand) to make this easy and fantabulicious side dish. Though it nowhere near lives up to the Best Ever Roasted Broccoli, it still rocks.

End love story.

*****

Ghetto Roasted Broccoli (for one)

  • 1 cup broccoli florets, frozen
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • dash of salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp Parmesan

Add broccoli and sliced garlic to a pan coated with nonstick cooking spray. Toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Bake at 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until garlic and broccoli begin to brown. Remove from oven, stir in lemon juice and basil:

and top with Parmesan.

Broiled Maple Salmon:

Such a simple sauce, yet so good.

Served with a small potato leftover from the grill. I actually licked my plate clean, because I’m classy like that. Hey, if Dave was eating with me, I would have used my finger to wipe it clean, but I was all alone!

My dirty Tanqueray martini may have influenced me.

4 thoughts on “Broiled Maple Salmon and Ghetto Roasted Broccoli

  1. The only dish I have ever licked clean was homemade chicken alfredo. I used to make it for Casey and myself and one should never waste Alfredo. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Morning Coming Down | Designs on Dinner

Leave a Comment

