♫ The Best Part of Waking Up….

is Folgers couscous in your (Darth Vader) cup! ♫

Dun, dun, dun, dun dadun, dun dadun….

My sleepy pants self was almost too tired to get out of bed and exercise this morning, and two snooze buttons later (I don’t remember pressing it the second time), I only had time for a short workout. I brought up Hulu to find that they’re still not streaming full length ExerciseTV videos. Come on, Hulu; get your free act together!

I wanted to do something new, so I did 20 minutes (a little longer with commercials) of ‘Bikini Body Ready’ with Stephanie Vitorino. It was perfect for someone too tired to think too much and even though it was short, I was definitely feeling it.

I’ve done a couple Hulu programs with Stephanie before, but something about her throws me off. Perhaps it’s the combination of her girlish voice and a body that’s anything but girlish. Reminds me of a time a robust Harley driver bedecked in a fringed leather jacket and a black bandana brought a tiny, fluffy puppy with a pink sweater into the retail store I was working at several years ago. I love when stereotypes are smashed. (And also when they’re proven true).

After getting ready for work, I helped myself to this delicious Darth Vader bowl of cold couscous straight from the fridge:

  • 1/4 cup of whole wheat couscous (prepared according to package directions)
  • 6 oz yogurt (I used cinnamon roll…yum!)
  • 1/2 a pear, diced
  • sprinkling of cinnamon
  • handful of granola

I mixed the cooked couscous and yogurt in the fridge last night and added the diced pear, cinnamon, and granola this morning. I’ve been wanting to try ‘breakfast couscous’ since I saw an episode about it on Good Eats. It was quite tasty!

The beads of couscous in the smooth, creamy yogurt reminded me of the drinks sold at the Farmer’s Market with the little tapioca beads. Delicious! Like Overnight Oats, it will make a great warm-weather breakfast. Or a picnic dessert.

P.S. You have until Sunday to enter the One Month Blogiversary Giveaway! (See yesterday’s posts for directions).

Leave a Comment

