Grilled Mango and Cajun Shrimp Salad Redone

I had a lovely afternoon of baking, running errands with Dave, and prepping food for our family’s spring gathering tomorrow. First I had to restock my granola supply….because being without granola is a travesty I cannot afford to live with. I decided to use some of my fun new finds from Woodman’s and came up with this:

Quinoa Applesauce Granola

  • 1 ½ cup whole rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 2 T milled flax seed
  • 1/4 cup almonds, coarsely chopped (I used half roasted and half cocoa roasted)
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup stevia
  • 1/2 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce
  • ½ tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix oats, quinoa, flax seeds, almonds, sunflower seeds, and coconut in a medium mixing bowl. In a small sauce pan over low heat, combine applesauce, stevia (or sugar), honey, and vanilla, and stir for a few minutes. Remove pan from heat and slowly mix applesauce mixture into oat mixture. Spread granola mix out on a cookie sheet and bake at 300 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring every ten minutes. Remove from oven and stir in dried cranberries. Let cool.

Another delicious concoction! The quinoa added a lovely pop, and the cocoa roasted almonds were a wonderful addition. I also made a b-e-a-utiful layered dip that you’ll see tomorrow!

Remember the terrible Mango Salad with Cajun Grilled Shrimp I ordered at Tucson’s? I decided tonight was a fine time to remake it, because mango and grilled shrimp really should be a grand salad combination.

Tucson's Grilled Mango and Cajun Shrimp Salad

First, I made a cajun seasoning for the shrimp using this recipe from allrecipes.com.

  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

After thawing about 8 oz of shrimp and skewering them on kebabs, I rubbed the seasoning into them–I used about 1/4 of the mix for the shrimp and saved the rest.

The base of the salad was shredded romaine lettuce and spinach, halved grape tomatoes, diced red onions, and diced cucumber. We grilled a mango, and I thought adding a grilled avocado to the salad would be nice as well. After they had some lovely grill lines, I diced them.

Dave also wanted to experiment with brussel sprouts, as we’ve never cooked with them before. I honestly thought I wouldn’t like them, because my mom and Dave’s dad both dislike them, and we never ate them growing up.

We halved the brussel sprouts and tossed them in a little olive oil, garlic salt and pepper. Sweet potatoes were added to the grill as well, because we can’t seem to use the grill without adding a sweet potato to the mix. They’re so good!

Dave even helped with presentation!

The brussel sprouts were fantastic. I can’t believe I’ve gone this long without trying them! I think they are going to be good friends with Charlie/Char (aka our grill) this summer.

The sweet potatoes, as always, were delectable.

And my own version of Grilled Mango and Cajun Shrimp salad knocked Tucson’s out of the water. No dressing required. Check and mate, Tucson’s. Check and mate.

Leave a Comment

