Breakfast in the Jungle

Yoga was a necessity this morning. While I can feel and see my body getting leaner and stronger, I am definitely losing some of my flexibility…oh noes! That’s what I used to rock at! I went straight to Level 2 of Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown because there are a lot of great ab exercises in that program as well.

After I gained back a little weight after our wedding in 2010, yoga was the first thing I turned to. Yoga is not really a great ‘weight loss’ program, but most yogis are lean because of the lifestyle they lead. And, let’s face it, practicing yoga requires just as much inner strength, balance, and endurance as cardio does.

While my flexibility is pretty good, my balance is still horrible. I can nail a toe lock with no problem,

But I stumble and sometimes fall trying to do simple reps in Revolved Side Angle (Prayer Twist)!

Gah! I don’t know why I have such horrible balance. Does anyone know of any exercises or tips to improve balance?

Since I have coconut milk in my fridge, I decided to make myself a Rainforest Smoothie for breakfast.

Such a pretty green!

  • 1 banana
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk beverage
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice
  • 1/4 cup chunk pineapple
  • 1 large handful spinach
  • 1/4 tsp coconut extract
  • 3-4 ice cubes

I feel like I should be wearing this while I drink it:

Jungle Faerie at a Faerie Festival I attended last year

The coconut milk I used is this:

Not the coconut milk you get in a can. Although that stuff is delicious, it is 552 calories a cup. This stuff is 45 calories. Much better start to the day! This ‘milk’ is lighter and smoother than coconut milk made from pressed coconut flesh, and I’ve found it to be a good substitute for the real thing when mixed with a bit of coconut extract. (See Coconut Curry Broccoli recipe…yum).

I can’t pretend that I’m ecstatic that Dave and I work opposite shifts and rarely see each other during the week, but I do love that I can use the blender for smoothies in the morning without fear of waking him up. They are so refreshing and filling! I often think I’m going to need a supplement like a piece of toast with peanut butter, etc. but I find I’m too full afterwards to even think about any other food.

Is it weird that I want to watch George of the Jungle now?

Happy Friday, everyone! Stay tuned in the next few days for my One Month Blogiversary Giveaway!

Leave a Comment

