Couch Potato Power

Sometimes the power of fruit must resign itself to the power of the potato….make that couch potato. Sadly citrus did not help me make it through the day; nay, not even through the morning.

After four hours of feeling like the walking dead at work, trying my best to keep up my end of conversations without slipping into oblivion, I finally had to admit: I was sick. I skipped my lunch break in hopes of leaving early and energized myself with a blueberry flavored Clif Z bar.

This was really delicious. Perfect for me because it wasn’t too sweet, and I love almost anything blueberry flavored. But even the power of whole grains couldn’t stay my inability to function like a proper worker bee.

Luckily, someone was able to come in for me, and as soon as I got home, I put on my trusty yoga pants and headed to the couch to read, rest, and down plenty of water. Fortunately, my illness in no way affected my stomach; it was more a combination of extreme tiredness and low iron, so I was overjoyed when Dave arrived home with a delicious personal-sized chocolate mint cake from a bakery he was at today.

Chocolate and mint is a fabulous pairing. I nommed that thing before my camera even had a chance.

For Female Eyes Only: I am just getting used to this whole ‘time of the month’ thing again after having no cycle for over a year and a half. Yes, this was another ‘Hmm, that’s interesting‘ condition from two doctors’ perspectives. Thanks to a new type of birth control, it has come back with a deadly vengeance. (Ah, the power of medicinal minds…) But Dave and I both know that the only thing that will help cure this particular ailment is chocolate. The jury’s still out on whether this is scientific or psychological, but no amount of fruit can replace this craving.

Welcome back, boys. The chocolate cake kept me full for nearly four hours, and while it certainly satisfied part of me, I was craving veggies like nobody’s business. I decided to take a break from the couch and make a simple and healthy Soysage & Pepper dish for dinner.

  • 1/2 green pepper, coarsely cut
  • 1 small onion, coarsely cut
  • 2 Boca Breakfast links, sliced
  • 1/2 cup homemade tomato sauce (or diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings)
  • 1/2 tbsp. fennel, dash of salt & pepper
  • sprinkling of mozzarella

Dave and I never really keep a lot of meat in the house, and now that I’ve gone all ‘humaneitarian’ on him, there’s even less. Still, sometimes you just need sausage or a good substitute (I know, that’s what she said). These Boca breakfast links did the trick:

Lightlife also has a really good ground sausage product, but the organic section of most Green Bay grocery stores is rather unpredictable so I stuck with what I had. I know some people are alarmed by meat substitutes, but if you watch Food, Inc, you will be just as alarmed by regular ol’ pork.

I sauteed the onion, pepper, and sausage in a little olive oil in a pan on medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Just towards the end, I added a bit of salt, pepper, and fennel. I think fennel is underutilized; the dried form is fantastic in pizza crusts, tomato sauces, and a must with sausage (or sausage substitutes). It’s also quite good for you.

After moving this hot mess to a bowl, I heated up a bit of my homemade tomato sauce in the same pan to pick up the rest of the cooked-on seasonings before adding it to the dish. Sprinkled with a bit of mozzarella and red pepper flakes.

Simple, healthy, and delicious. No pasta required. (Although feel free to add pasta by all means).

I consumed this while watching my pal Alton Brown reinvent the American classic Spaghetti with Meat Sauce. I think I reinvented it quite nicely myself. And hopefully this dinner, combined with couch potato power and a (hopefully) good night’s sleep will leave me with more energy than you can shake a chocolate cake at.

Leave a Comment

