Treat Yourself

Seen in various forms on Pinterest:

Um, what? Call me Rover again, I guess. First off, it seems like women and dogs always seem to be at the butt end of an insult. I won’t even get into how awesome dogs and those of the XX chromosome possession are, but I will get into how awesome I think food is as a reward!

Sometimes we go to such terrible extremes of over stuffing our bodies or seeing how little we can get by on that we forget the most basic thing: food is fuel. Our bodies convert food into energy to keep us walking and talking, to keep our hearts pumping and oxygen flowing through our systems.

Even if you lie flat on your back all day, your body still requires calories to keep you alive. Fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, and whole grains should fill 80-90% of your plate. But if you’re willing to put your feet down, get off your back, and keep yourself active, food can be a great reward.

I remember reading this in Helen Fielding’s book Bridget Jones’ Diary and laughing, because it is definitely one of those statements that is just terribly funny because it’s so true: “I realized that I have spent so many years being on a diet that the idea that you might actually need calories to survive has been completely wiped out of my consciousness. Have reached point where believe nutritional idea is to eat nothing at all, and that the only reason people eat is because they are so greedy they cannot stop themselves from breaking out and ruining their diets.”

Food as a reward does not always have to be equated with something bad. I love to reward myself with the occasional gourmet coffee, smoked salmon, or dark chocolate bar. Ice cream on beach-day Sundays. Dave’s traditional Dowe-family birthday cake is a must every July 2nd. (3 layers, brownie bottom, need I say more?)

This is my mantra: Do reward yourself with amazing, delicious, real food. Just make sure your rewards aren’t undoing every good thing you are already doing for yourself. And if you do overdo it once or twice, just hit your reset button and get back on track.

It just so happens I deserved a reward today. I am two weeks smoke free, peeps. I still want a cigarette. Real bad. But instead, I made myself this:

A grilled mango, avocado, and white sharp cheddar sandwich on artisan wheat bread. I’ve been craving one ever since I saw it here.

The mango wasn’t perfectly ripe, and I burned the bottom a bit (Sad story; I have still not mastered the art of a simple grilled cheese sandwich–how pathetic), but it was still fantastic. That’s how good this combination is.

Coconut curry broccoli.

My vegetables in sauce rarely photograph well, so you’ll just have to take my word that this side dish was awesome. I am slightly biased because I love broccoli, but even I was skeptical at the coconut curry combination. I am skeptical no more. The ingredients (for one serving):

  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1/4 So Delicious Coconut Milk beverage
  • 1/4 tsp coconut extract
  • 1 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp hot curry powder
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • sprinkling of shredded coconut
Saute broccoli over medium high heat. Add salt and pepper, and reduce heat. Combine other ingredients in a small dish (except shredded coconut), and stir in to broccoli. Let sauce thicken before serving.

I am two weeks smoke-free. And I am mango-avocado-cheddar-coconut-curry-broccoli-full.

Leave a Comment

