Screen Time

Eight hours staring at a screen is not my idea of a good time, unless it involves a movie marathon, a bowl of popcorn and/or ice cream, and a delicious adult beverage. I know I spent an entire day this winter watching back to back episodes of Mad Men until my eyes turned to jelly. That was lovely. Tonight was not.

My day of computer work was only broken up by two new patients and my food rations for the day. Soul food, indeed. Whatever the computer sucked out of me, my food luckily returned.

Snack at 5:00pm was a Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Roasted Nut bar. In addition to cheese-flavored things, I am picky about my sweet & salty mixtures. Chocolate covered pretzels? Um, yes. Kettle corn? No. These bars are a tiny bit too sweet for my taste, but the saltiness of the peanuts, cashews, and almonds do pair quite nicely with the nougat.

Dinner at 7:30pm was a salad:

This one was romaine, shredded carrots, black olives, hardboiled egg, a dollop of black bean hummus, and the rest of my crumbled feta. My cheese drawer is getting dangerously empty–time for a trip to the grocery store! Also, if you don’t have a drawer in your refrigerator dedictated to cheese, you are missing out on one of the finers things in life.

For some fiber and sweetness, a delicious apple:

And for crunch, my beloved Smokehouse Almond Nut Thins. Did anyone in the Green Bay area hear thunder at 7:30? No worries, that was my insanely loud chomping. I briefly considering forgoing the crackers until later because I was afraid of bringing down the walls around me but damn, I needed that soul food.

Lucky for me, Dave gladly ate the rest of the icky cheese-flavored ones so my love affair with the Smokehouse ones could continue. For dessert, a Nipple of Venus aka Skinny Monkey cookie. (Might as well resign myself).

The eight hours could not pass soon enough. When I got home, I decided to treat myself after a hard week of workouts. Frozen greek yogurt. Topped with peanut butter chips. And a drizzle of maple syrup. Consumed while watching an episode of Frasier. Finally, some screen time I can get behind.

Leave a Comment

