Mary Moooooon

Do you ever just wake up craving a big bowl of vegetables?

Well, there went half my readers.

Throughout my workout this morning, the No More Trouble Zones video, I had my eyes on the prize: breakfast. Luckily, I was strong enough to push through the hour without stopping for sustenance. My cup of coffee pre-workout did help fill me up a bit.

If you’re looking for a video to really work out your abs, this one is even tougher than Six Week Six Pack. It has slower but more concentrated ab exercises, so even though you won’t sweat as much, you will definitely feel it afterwards. I actually groaned aloud when it was time for scissor kicks, but I kept calm and carried on (is it just me or did that phrase become really popular again for no particular reason)?

After a shower spent singing “Mary Moooooon, she’s a vegetarian, Mary Moon, Mary Moon,” I had an intense craving for veggies. I decided to try to replicate the Mustard Seed Cafe’s ‘Bowl of Plenty’ with what I had on hand. Theirs is described as ‘A bowl of sauteed spinach, carrots, zucchini, tomatoes, cabbage, scallion, and mushrooms seasoned with garlic and herbs, topped with two poached eggs.’

Remember this pretty picture?

This was mine:

 

I assure you, it was just as delicious, but I was so hungry, I didn’t take the time to master my food art. (I’m still working on it!) My version was sauteed spinach, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms and artichokes with homemade tomato sauce, minced garlic, and shredded Parmesan, topped with a poached egg. I had a side of multigrain toast with apricot jam.

And a large glass of iced green tea. I’m not sure of the flavor, because my mom’s friend brought it back from China and it is covered in characters that my American brain cannot decipher.

Breakfast was a perfect combination of savory and sweet. And remember, you can put an egg on anything and it becomes breakfast food!

Leave a Comment

