Whatever I Want Day

Today is my Sunday, which is basically code for ‘do whatever you want’ day. What I did after exercise and breakfast:

Took a bubble bath. Started Catching Fire. Did my laundry. Sang “Laundry day, see you there, underthings tum-ba-ling. Wanna say ‘love your hair.’ Here I go mum-ba-ling. With my freeze ray I will stop the world” while doing laundry. Made some soup in the crock pot:

Vegetable Barley Soup

  • 2 cups homemade chicken stock
  • 1/3 cup homemade tomato sauce (diced tomatoes are a good swap, but I wanted to use what I had)
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup barley
  • 1/3 cup mixed frozen vegetables
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Dash of worcestershire
  • Pinch each of curry powder, paprika, garlic salt, and pepper

I set this to low and let it cook for about 4 hours. I added about 1/4 of leftover northern beans right towards the end, since they were already cooked and just needed to be warmed up.

*****

Blow dried and straightened my hair. Finally got dressed. Did the dishes. Ate some soup–it was good. Had a piece of cold veggie pizza, too. Cold pizza rocks my socks off.

With multigrain toast to make crouton crumbles.

Put on my trusty green Chucks (socks somehow found their way back on).

Took a walk to the mail box. Threw most of the mail away. Greeted Dave with enthusiasm. Drank some more tea. (Warm Hearth also rocks my socks off). Went to Menards. Went to Festival. Went to Goodwill. Found some new dishes for cool food photography:

Went to Target. Finally convinced Dave to buy some new sleep t-shirts (his old ones were literally disintegrating). Came home. Read more Catching Fire. Went to Panera for dinner. Ate this delicious meal:

Half a Tomato Mozzarella Panini on whole grain, half a Greek Salad, dressing on the side. Shared half the French baguette with Dave, then wanted to go to France and consume nothing but baguettes, cheese, and wine. Drank some Ginger Peach tea:

Met friends for drinks. They’re pretty cool. Had an old fashioned:

Had a Pomegranate Cosmopolitan:

Plenty of water was consumed as well. Wanted a cigarette. Didn’t smoke one. Came home. Going to bed. Pretty good ‘whatever I want’ day.

Leave a Comment

