Babysitting Take 1

My sister Moriah and I offered to babysit our niece Aurelia this evening, the occasion being my sister Emily and her boyfriend Christopher’s two year anniversary. Aurelia is just over six weeks old and hasn’t yet been from her mother for more than a couple hours.

Let’s get this straight: I have never really been a ‘baby’ person. I would love to have kids someday, but when I was growing up, babysitting never interested me. In fact, after my sisters (who are two years younger than me), I have never held a baby until my niece Aurelia. She changed my outlook on the wee little ones, and I consider her a delightful gift in my life.

The time I have spent with her thus far has involved very few tears, and I was expecting that tonight when Moriah came over for pizza and Frasier. I made two pizzas for the occasion.

Regular Ol’ Vegetarian Pizza

  • Flatbread Pizza dough (sans sundried tomatoes)
  • Tomato sauce (1 can crushed tomatoes, 3 oz red wine, 1 small onion diced onion, 3 garlic cloves, basil, oregano, thyme, salt, and pepper to taste)
  • 4 oz mozzarella, shredded
  • 1 oz Parmesan, shredded
  • green pepper
  • red pepper
  • black olives
  • mushrooms
  • artichokes
This pizza was pretty straightforward as pizzas go–simply assemble, bake at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes, and allow to cool 5 minutes before cutting.

 Salmon Pizza

  • Flatbread Pizza dough (sans sundried tomatoes)
  • White sauce (1/3 cup greek yogurt, 1 tbsp sour cream, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 tbsp dill weed)
  • 1/2 zucchini, sliced
  • 1/3 red onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 4 oz salmon, flaked into small pieces
  • 1 oz parmesan cheese, shredded

I believe this is my fourth, and best, attempt at a salmon pizza. To begin, spread sauce over rolled crust. Add red onion and zucchini. Bake at 400 degrees for about 12 minutes. Remove from oven and top with flaked salmon and parmesan cheese and bake an additional 12-13 minutes. After removing from the oven, sprinkle capers over pizza and let cool 5 minutes before cutting.

Pre-pizza, I had a salad with romaine, mushrooms, olives, red onion, dried cranberries and a drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette. My first pizza plate:

After that I could have stopped….but I wanted more pizza!

Both the pizzas were really good, but I was so pleased at this version of the salmon pizza that I’m going to say it was my favorite of the night. I’ve tried many different ways of cooking a salmon pizza with different components, but this is the best method thus far. I also really like this flatbread crust recipe. It’s the perfect combination of chewy inside and crispy outside On the side, I had a club soda with a splash of lime juice.

After we ate, Aurelia began to cry. And cry. And cry. We fed her, changed her, bathed her, bounced her, flew her through the air (safely). Moriah said, “I feel like I’m getting a workout!” after doing five minutes of side lunges with her, and my arms got tired after a few minutes of lifting her up and down (for some reason this seems to make her happy, but it’s hard to keep up for long bouts).

Finally, Moriah calmed her and gently set her in her chair:

I want to be a great Auntie, but I haven’t figured out how yet! Practice, practice, practice.

Leave a Comment

