Pinteresting Evening

Yes, I am one of the people who actually makes some of the things she pins on Pinterest. Case in point, past project found on Pinterest that I made for our bedroom:

And I’ve used quite a few recipes already, including cauliflower poppers, mozzarella sticks, and Chai cocktails. Today’s project was using a few old t-shirts to make produce bags.

I’m glad I didn’t throw the t-shirts away, because these bags will come in handy at the Farmer’s Market for fresh veggies or at the beach for sandals, towels, etc. They took me about an hour and a half to make, because I don’t have a sewing machine, but I didn’t mind.

Whilst I was crafting, Dave did some online gaming and put up the bird feeder we bought at Fleet Farm the other day. It had only been up a few minutes when a chickadee (? couldn’t see it well) came to feed.

Athena and Artemis are already delighted at the view.

After I finished the produce bags, it was time to think dinner. Dave cut the Chel-approved chicken (humane certified):

while I looked up a marinade recipe. We loved the orange marmalade and rosemary marinade I concocted last time but wanted to try something more savory this time. I found this recipe from cookinglight.com, and I halved it for our needs.

Zesty Dijon Marinade
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup Dijon mustard
2 tbsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
1/8 tsp salt
2 spoonfuls of minced garlic (I added extra because I love garlic!)

I put the marinade in a gallon plastic bag with the chicken to let it sit.

Dave wanted to prep the sweet potatoes:

He sliced them into thick chunks and tossed them in a mixture of Cholula, Liquid Smoke, Pickapeppa, Chili Garlic sauce, garlic salt and Worcestershire.

Meanwhile, I cut up some cabbage for foil packs with a tsp. of butter each, some minced garlic, green onions, salt and pepper.

These simple seasonings are my favorite way to dress up cabbage. I also cut up an underripe mango to grill and drizzled it with a bit of honey and coconut rum. I have intentions to recreate the grilled mango salad I had a Tuscon’s someday, but tonight we are just going to test out the grillability of mango and have it for dessert with greek frozen yogurt.

Chicken on the grill:

This is why you always leave skin on your chicken! It takes all the burning and leaves all the flavor.

Grilled taters:

Yes, my precious. Ready for dinner!

Nothing looks very ‘green,’ but it’s all healthy! We’re going to enjoy dinner while watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Guess we’re feeling kinda nerdy tonight.

Verdict on dinner: I think we skimped a little on the seasonings for everything tonight. The chicken was incredibly tender and juicy, but I had to dip it in some Dijon for more flavor; I don’t think it had enough time to marinate. The sweet potatoes were quite good, as usual, but the cabbage needed a little extra something. I guess I prefer my cabbage sauteed so it’s a bit crisper.

Winner of the night: the greek frozen yogurt with grilled mango. The frozen yogurt is as good as I hoped, both sweet and tangy at the same time. I’m enjoying it by my computer while Dave turns the chicken bones into stock.

Here are the chicken bones in our slow cooker:

Add mirepoix (carrots, onions, and celery) with seasonings:

Total ingredients needed for homemade chicken stock:

  • bones from one chicken
  • 2 onions
  • 3 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp. whole peppercorns
  • 3 quarts of cold water or enough to cover

Set slow cooker to low and heat overnight (or at least six hours).

Leave a Comment

