Bowl of Peaches

Today’s breakfast was unintentionally quite late. Even though I woke at what I thought was 7:30, my computer reminded me that it was Daylight Savings today! On Sundays, I like to have a lazier morning, and I usually drink my coffee (and read PostSecret!) before I exercise. After my delicious cup and a half of Toasted Nut, the sun was shining in through the blinds, and I was feeling quite energetic.

I decided to Hulu it up again this morning and did ExerciseTV’s Upper Body with Chris Freytag (24:12), followed by the same Core workout I did the a days ago (21:04). Since I wanted to concentrate on building up my upper body strength again, I used the commercial breaks for a total of about 150 chest flies, and I finished both workouts with 30 crunches, for a total of about 50 minutes. While that might sound like a high number of weight lifts, I was only using 4 lb weights per my dr’s orders, so I pushed myself and stopped only after my arms started to feel too tired to do more.

I bought these dumbbells at Dick’s Sporting Goods as a present for Dave last year, and I use them more than he does:

The bars themselves are 4 lbs (what I used today), and we have eight five-lb. weights and four three-lb. weights that can be added on. I can’t wait until I can start adding those back to the bars! I don’t use a mat when I’m doing Cardio, in an effort not to kick it up in a frenzy, so my elbows were killing me with rug burn afterwards. 😦

Two things I often have trouble with during exercising: balancing on one leg and not using my neck when I am doing crunches. (Jillian always says ‘Your neck is not invited to this party!’) I have a few crazy mind tricks for these. I don’t know why my balance is so terrible, but when I have to balance on one leg, I pretend I’m a one-legged pirate and have no other leg to support me. If you convince yourself you have only one leg, suddenly balancing on one leg seems much easier. (Yes, I told you it was crazy). My mind trick for crunches is to pretend my neck is in a cast and cannot be moved, which seems to help me from using it like a pigeon.

After I showered and patched my pants with an old bandana, I contemplated breakfast…at 12:00. After realizing that I had only one serving of my fruit yesterday, I set about to fix it.

Behold, a bowl of peaches! This is about 1 1/2 cups worth of frozen peaches, thawed, with 1/3 cup of Greek yogurt, a strawberry, and 1/4 cup of homemade granola. Delicious.

Since we’re cooking out at my parents later, I decided to put on my ‘Queen of Couscous’ (my brother’s phrase) crown, and made a side dish using this whole wheat couscous I found at Woodman’s.

This couscous was like no other kind I ever used before. The couscous were huge, almost like beads, and the only ingredient was whole wheat flour.

I tried a few of the ‘beads’ and they were quite chewy, but in a good way. Because we had two tomatoes and some spinach to use up, I made this:

Spinach, Tomato, and Feta Couscous Salad

  • 2 cups homemade chicken stock
  • 1 cup whole wheat couscous
  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 5 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1/2 tbsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tbsp. basil
  • 1/2 tbsp. Lapsang Souchong (smoked black tea), ground

Bring chicken stock to a boil over medium-high heat in a medium saucepan. Add couscous, cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 8-10 minutes. (If you are using boxed couscous, follow package directions). Remove from heat and let cool.

Meanwhile, in a medium fry pan, spray with cooking spray and saute chopped fresh spinach about 5 minutes. Let cool.

In a large bowl, combine tomatoes, onion, cooled spinach, and feta cheese. Add couscous.

In a small mixing bowl, combine olive oil, red wine vinegar and spices. Pour over couscous mixture and toss to coat. Serve immediately or refrigerate until well chilled.

*****

Now that Dave has pulled his potato buns out of the oven, it’s 2:00pm, and we’re ready to head to my parent’s house in the country to enjoy the glorious day!

2 thoughts on “Bowl of Peaches

Leave a Comment

