Pizza Pizza!

My mid-day snack today consisted of my last whole wheat applesauce muffin and a big orange. I can definitely tell that Spring is coming back around because fruit, especially citrus, always tastes exponentially more delicious. This one was perfect, incredibly sweet and flavorful. Even my co-worker commented that it smelled amazing. No real ‘lunch’ today because it was busy, so I ate at my desk.

Like every red-blooded American, I love my pizza. You could put almost anything on a pizza: from salmon, dill and green onion to carmelized onions and chicken to Thai fixings (like those found on Old Chicago’s delicious Thai Pie), and I would devour it. The possibilities are endless, and that’s perhaps what I love most about pizza; its versatility.

My husband, Dave, is a fantastic pizza maker. He specializes in amazing deep dish pizzas, but alas, hand tossed crust remains my favorite. Tonight’s pizza was one I pre-baked on Wednesday, then popped in the freezer for a lovely, quick dinner.

On pizza, my husband and I differ on one thing: Dave maintains that the veggies should be sauteed until all the water evaporates so as not to ‘water-log’ the crust. I maintain that the veggies taste best crisp and rarely ever make the crust soggy. I compromised by stir-frying the mushrooms, onion, and red and green bell pepper for about five minutes, enough to evaporate some of the juices, but quick enough that they still held a little fresh crunch. All together:

For this pizza, I used:

  • homemade sundried tomato and fennel flatbread pizza crust
  • homemade pizza sauce with diced tomatoes simmered with garlic, fennel, basil, oregano, marjoram, and a dash of salt and freshly ground pepper (we never buy pizza or pasta sauce–diced tomatoes are so much cheaper!)
  • 8 oz. shredded mozzarella
  • 2 oz. parmesan
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 5 medium button mushrooms, sliced
  • 5 black olives, sliced
  • 3 green olives, sliced

Since reading the nutrition info on frozen pizzas, Dave is afraid to buy them. For good reason. I calculated this entire pizza to be about 1950 calories. For comparison, a Digiorno Supreme Pizza has 2100 calories. I’m not knocking frozen pizzas; they can be delicious and a quick fix for a gathering. But homemade pizza fills you up so much more for way fewer calories! Honestly, I could polish off an entire thin crust frozen pizza if I was really hungry. I had two slices of this pizza with a side salad and was comfortably full. Just something to think about…

The small salad consisted of spring mix, spinach, and a portabella mushroom cooked with some garlic. Pizza verdict? Simple, yet quite delicious. Dave almost handed me the pizza title, but I don’t think I’d go that far. It’s always nice to hear your food is delicious, though! The crust was a bit crunchy from baking twice (It actually took longer for the pizza to bake the second time–remind me not to do that again!), but full of flavor. On the side, water. Normally, I would branch out more with a mixed drink, especially on a Friday, but we’re headed to Suamico Ale House for some brews for my brother’s birthday!

This was my sole drink of the night: a refreshing Blue Moon with an orange slice. This was followed by a club soda. Goodnight, world!

Leave a Comment

