Summer of Firsts

Dave and I have had a lot of firsts this summer, including going target shooting, making poutine, and canning. Last weekend, we pickled five pounds of green beans my parents brought from their garden.

002

It was a hot, vinegary process that took most of the afternoon.

001

 

But when we were done, we had 11 pints of pickled green beans and one pint of pickled mushrooms thrown in for good measure.

003

We used this recipe, but we added a clove of garlic to each jar and a tablespoon or so of sriracha to the brine. I can’t wait to try them!

One night we scrounged for dinner, so I made myself a veggie quesadilla. My neighbor passed a box of produce over the fence to me last week, so I’ve been using extra veggies in everything.

004

The filling for my quesadilla was mushrooms, tomatoes, zucchini, spinach, and monterey jack cheese.

005

I have decided that AB’s grilled cheese method does not work for quesadillas, so I pan fried on both sides to get this perfectly brown and crispy tortilla, served with salsa, guacamole, and plain Greek yogurt.

Another night, we made pizza….of course. We quick-thawed some of our frozen pizza doughs in warm water for the crust.

007

One was a veggie pizza with pepperoni marinara cheese.

The wild card was a roasted green bean and salmon pizza with a cream cheese base and lots of dill.

006

 

 

Both were delicious, but I highly recommend trying a salmon pizza if you haven’t yet. Fish and cheese do go well together…I don’t care what people say.

When I got home from work last night, Dave had made dinner for me!

008He made baked salmon & shrimp pouches with poached eggs and brussels sprouts and a delicious potato and onion tian. It was a beautiful presentation and very well-appreciated by me.

I’ve been having fun the last week planning out our four-year anniversary. Dave and I found a cute little cabin to rent in Door County on the cheap, so I’ve been scouring the internet for fun places to shop and eat while we’re there.

treehouse

treehouse 2

 

Staycations are fun, but it’s been ages since Dave and I went together on a trip alone (I think the last time was to Chicago for our two-year anniversary), and since we spent last anniversary packing moving boxes and eating Subway for dinner, I think we deserve it. 

It’s been a year since my last vacation without Dave, my trip to Alaska. My cousin Amanda posted this picture today of me, Mom, her, and her friend Maggie on our glacier cruise.

010So many good memories!

 

Leave a Comment