Pinterest: The 21st Century Version of Window Shopping

I don’t like window shopping.

When I shop, I like to have a specific purpose. Unless it involves browsing thrift stores or World Market, I’m out. I don’t want to see all the clothes I can’t afford, or all the cool knick knacks for a house I don’t have yet.

But Pinterest, unlike real window shopping, lends a sort of instant gratification. No, I don’t actually have this ridiculously awesome wine cave.

But the fact that I have it stored somewhere besides a dusty corner in my mind makes it closer to a real possibility.

Besides decorating my future castle/mansion and pinning workouts that I might actually get to some day, my favorite part of Pinterest is my online recipe box. I’m not a fan of ‘stuff,’ and although there is a large part of me that loves the feeling of real pages of a cookbook and old recipe cards, our small apartment would get much smaller if we were saddled with even more kitchen stuff than we already have (even though all our gadgets are necessity!).

Here are some recipes I’ve been drooling over lately, just in time for fall and winter.

Pecan Pie Cheesecake. 

I don’t think my family has ever had pecan pie for a holiday gathering, and I’m not a huge fan of cheesecakes (except for the Orange Chocolate Truffle Cheesecake I make that is to die for), but this looks amazing. In fact, maybe I can whip up a batch of homemade cream cheese to make it this year….

Caramel Stuffed Apple Cider Cookies.

Are you friggin’ kidding me? These are going to happen this fall.

Chai Pumpkin Spice Thumbprints.

As I may have mentioned earlier, my mom owns a tea business, and we are forever trying to help people incorporate tea into their cooking. We attend a holiday gift show as vendors every November, and I think these will be a perfect accompaniment to the hot tea we serve. Even “I don’t like tea” people like chai.

Truffle Hot Chocolate Balls.

Here’s a secret: I don’t like hot chocolate. I know. I can hardly believe it myself. How can someone who loves chocolate with the fiery passion of a thousand suns not like hot chocolate? I think it’s the powder. And I think my only way to find out is to make truffle hot chocolate balls this year and test out my theory.

Golden Santa Bread.

Much like plastering a photo of your child’s face on a birthday cake, it seems somewhat cannibalistic to tear off a piece of Santa’s beard for consumption. But how cool would you look bringing this as your food offering to a holiday party? Pretty darn cool, methinks. I’m sold.

And finally….for the somewhat healthy portion of the evening…

Autumn Chopped Salad.

If you could literally chop up fall and mix it with lettuce, this would be it. Pears, cranberries, pecans, bacon, and feta. How could you go wrong?  A salad lover’s dream, a salad hater’s “Hey, I could choke this down.”

Leave a Comment

