Are you a Mexi-can or a Mexi-can’t?

I remember very little about the movie Once Upon a Time in Mexico. The few things that do come to mind are a flamethrower guitar case, Antonio Banderas’ smoky voice, a pair of bleeding eyes, Johnny Depp’s b-e-a-utiful face (definitely on my ‘list’), and the phrase, “Are you a Mexi-can or a Mexi-can’t?”

Sometimes when you see a delicious-looking recipe on Pinterest for Sweet Potato Black Bean Enchiladas, you Mexi-can follow the recipe. Sometimes you Mexi-can’t and decide to turn it into a burrito.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burrito

When sweet potatoes are on the menu, I usually take the time to preheat the oven and bake it. Sometimes I’m too darn hungry and think it’s one measly sweet potato. So tonight, I boiled it.

Cut one small sweet potato into bite-sized chunks.

Put potatoes in a medium saucepan and cover with water. Bring water to a boil, and continue to boil for about 10 minutes, or until tender.

Meanwhile, dice 1/4 of an onion. Saute the onion in a tsp of olive oil and a tsp of lime juice for about 3-4 minutes.

Then add 1/4 cup of cooked black beans.

And half of the cooked sweet potatoes. (You’ll have leftovers).

Remove from heat, and stir in your favorite spices. I used cumin, garlic salt, red pepper flakes, and dried cilantro.

Heat up a tortilla and line it with spinach. I used a Tomato Basil flavored tortilla.

Spoon sweet potato and black bean mixture over the spinach and sprinkle with shredded cheese. I used Mango Fire, which was an excellent addition.

Top with salsa.

Find some delicious sides to serve with. I chose grapes.

And a new Yoplait Coconut flavored Greek yogurt.

Very good, but not as good as Chobani’s Honey Nana. I’ll have to try it with something blander than a spicy wrap. However, it improved greatly when I stirred in some homemade granola.

Granola makes almost everything better.

Now, I know this ‘burrito’ is about as Mexican as spaghetti and meatballs are Italian, but you’ll have to forgive me on this one. I would call it a wrap instead, but Steve from The Sneeze truly said it best. I am sorry, Mexico, that we Americans stole your burrito. Truly.

I hope you Mexi-can forgive me.

Leave a Comment

